Getting Certs from ESP32

Hi,

i found my way to this Forum because of the great CCC Talk. I had to order a box for … erm … my son.
Im Interested in setting up teddyCloud. Iam more of a Software guy, so im pretty new to dumping flashs from ESPs. And thats where most of my questions are.

I didnt open the box yet. I have just connected it to the Internet and made the tonies Setup so it can update its Firmware.

I have found this page where the Dumping of the certificates is mentioned:

ESP32 | Toniebox Hacking (revvox.de)

I think the mentioned esptool ist this one from espressif? Releases · espressif/esptool · GitHub

Then there is the mention of jumper J100. Is there a picture of where to find it? And how do i reset the box? Is the board in this state still connected to the battery pack and running “normally”?

After that there is a mention of serial monitor. What is that and how do i check things with it? :smiley:

Can someone tell me which commands to run in esptool, when succesfully connected to the board with the UART?

And my last question. Is there any UART recommended to do all this or any Hardware needed other than just the UART?

This got much longer than expected. I hope i did not miss anything in the documentation. Thanks in advance.

Maybe these questions also need to be answered in the Ultimate Noob Guide , because thats where i see me in the Hardware Category:D

:raised_hands:

Please first check, what kind of box you have. It may be a v1-v4.
Then you can follow the wiki for your type of box

On this ESP32 board, I already soldered sockets onto the important places. J100 is one of the soldered jumper double pins.

Just cut the power and reconnect battery, powersupply or both. If J100 is shorted, the box won’t boot and the LED will stay off.

You don’t necessarily need to use the esptool. You may use the teddyCloud interface for that.